Powered by Blogger.
Showing posts with label corrupt. Show all posts
Showing posts with label corrupt. Show all posts

Repairing corrupted files in Excel

APPLIES TO                              

Microsoft Office Excel 2003
Microsoft Excel 2002

Microsoft Excel provides automatic recovery for a corrupted file by attempting to reopen and simultaneously repair the file. Excel identifies what it changed while repairing the file. If the repair fails, Excel again tries to open the file but instead of attempting a repair, Excel extracts cell values and formulas leaving only the data. Under some circumstances, however, Excel won't automatically go into recovery mode, so users may find it necessary to recover file data manually.

To manually repair a file

1. On the File menu, click Open.
2. In the Open dialog box, select the file you want to open, and click the arrow next to the Open button.
3. Click Open and Repair, and then choose which method you want to use to recover your workbook.

Methods for recovering data from damaged workbooks
The following are additional methods you can use to recover data manually from a file that has been corrupted. Under some circumstances a disk error or network error may make it impossible to open a file. In those situations you should move your file to a different hard disk drive or from the network to a local disk before spending time implementing the recovery options outlined here.

The following methods are opportunities to save data that might otherwise be lost, so if one method is not successful, try another. You can also try third-party software solutions to recover file data if you can't recover your data using these methods.

If you can open the file in Excel

HideUse the Revert To Saved Document command

If you are editing a Microsoft Excel worksheet and the file becomes corrupted before you have saved changes to the file, you can recover the original worksheet by doing the following:

1. On the File menu, click Open and select the name of the file that you are editing.
A dialog box appears with the message "Revert to Saved Document?"

2. Click OK. The file you are editing reverts to the last saved version of the file.
HideSave the file in SYLK format

Saving the file in SYLK 

format is typically used to remove printer corruption. If you can open the corrupted Microsoft Excel file, you can "filter" it if you save it in SYLK format, close the file, and then reopen it as follows:

1. On the File menu, click Save As.
2. In the Save as type list, click SYLK (Symbolic Link), and then click Save.

 NOTE   Only the active sheet in the workbook is saved when you use the SYLK file format. Click OK when the message tells you the selected file type does not support workbooks. Click Yes when the message tells you the file may contain features that aren't compatible with the SYLK format.

3. On the File menu, click Close.
4. On the File menu, click Open.
5. Select the .slk file you saved, and click Open.

 NOTE   To see the .slk file, you may need to click All Files in the Files of type list.

6. On the File menu, click Save As.
7. In the Save as type box, click Microsoft Excel Workbook, and then click Save.

 NOTE   Because this format saves only the active worksheet, you must open the corrupted file repeatedly and save each worksheet separately.

Save the file in Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) format

If you can open the corrupted Microsoft Excel file, you can "filter" it if you save it in HTML format, close the file, and then reopen it as follows:

1. On the File menu, click Save As. In the Save as type list, click Web Page (*.htm, *.html).
2. Under Save, click Entire Workbook, and then click Save.
3. Close the file.
4. Open the file again in Excel.
5. On the File menu, click Save As. In the Save as type list, click Microsoft Excel Workbook. Change the name of the file to create a new "filtered" copy without replacing the original.

 NOTE   Some features may be lost when you save in HTML format.

If you can't open the file in Excel
HideSet the recalculation option in Excel to manual

Start Excel and open a blank workbook if one is not open on the screen.
1. On the Tools menu, click Options.
2. Click the Calculation tab.
3. In the Calculation section, click Manual, and then click OK.
4. On the File menu, click Open and try to open the file.
5. Hide Use external references to link to the corrupted file

This method retrieves only data and not formulas or values from the workbook.

On the File menu, click Open. Then, browse from the current folder to the folder that contains the damaged file, and click Cancel.

Click New on the File menu, click File, and then click OK.
Type =File Name!A1 in cell A1 of the new workbook, where File Name is the name of the damaged workbook. If the Select Sheet dialog box appears, select the appropriate sheet, and click OK.
Select cell A1, and on the Edit menu, click Edit. Then, select an area that is approximately the same size as the range of cells that contain data in the damaged file, and then click Paste on the Edit menu.
With the range of cells still selected, click Copy on the Edit menu.
On the Edit menu, click Paste Special, select Values, and click OK.
This step removes the links to the damaged file and leaves only the data.

Open the file in Microsoft Word or WordPad

If you have the Microsoft Excel converter installed, you might be able to open your Excel workbook in Microsoft Word. If the file does open in Word, you will not be able to recover module sheets, dialog sheets, chart sheets, macro sheets, or any embedded charts. Also, you will not recover any cell formulas, only the results of those formulas that are currently in the cells.

You can also open your Excel workbook in WordPad. If the file does open, you might recover Microsoft Visual Basic code in your modules and class modules. Search for the words "Sub" or "Function" to find your code.

Open the file in Microsoft Excel Viewer


HideIf a chart is linked to the corrupted file, use a macro to extract the data

1. Enter the following macro code in a module sheet:

 Sub GetChartValues97() 
 Dim NumberOfRows As Integer 
 Dim X As Object 
 Counter = 2 

 ' Calculate the number of rows of data. 
 NumberOfRows = UBound(ActiveChart.SeriesCollection(1).Values) 

 Worksheets("ChartData").Cells(1, 1) = "X Values" 

 ' Write x-axis values to worksheet. 
 With Worksheets("ChartData") 
 .Range(.Cells(2, 1), _ 
 .Cells(NumberOfRows + 1, 1)) = _ 
 Application.Transpose(ActiveChart.SeriesCollection(1).XValues) 
 End With 

 ' Loop through all series in the chart and write their values to 


 ' the worksheet. 
 For Each X In ActiveChart.SeriesCollection 
 Worksheets("ChartData").Cells(1, Counter) = X.Name 

 With Worksheets("ChartData") 
 .Range(.Cells(2, Counter), _ 
 .Cells(NumberOfRows + 1, Counter)) = _ 
 Application.Transpose(X.Values) 
 End With 

 Counter = Counter + 1 
 Next 

 End Sub
Insert a new worksheet into your workbook and rename it ChartData.
Select the chart from which you want to extract the underlying data values.

NOTE   The chart can either be embedded on a worksheet or on a separate chart sheet.

Run the GetChartValues97 macro.
The data from the chart will be placed in the ChartData worksheet.

Saving a backup copy of your file

As a preventative measure, you may want to save your file often and create a backup copy every time you save. In the Save As dialog box (File menu, Save As command), click Tools, click General Options, and then select the Always create backup check box. This way, you'll have access to a good copy of the file, should the original be accidentally deleted or become corrupted.

You can also make sure that Excel automatically creates a recovery file at specific intervals. In the Options dialog box (Tools menu, Options command), on the Save tab, select the Save AutoRecover info every check box, and then specify a number of minutes. In the AutoRecover save location box, specify the location where you want to save the recovery file. Make sure that the Disable AutoRecover check box (under Workbook options) is not selected.

More information
For more information about file recovery issues, see the product support articles listed under See Also, or go directly to the Excel 2003 Support Center.

HOW TO FORMAT WINDOWS 7

How to Format  Windows 7


In Windows 7, you can format your C drive without being required to format all the other disk drives, or partitions, on your computer. The Windows 7 installation disc that was included with your computer at the time of purchase will allow you to format the C drive and erase all your settings, files, and programs on that partition. To format your C drive, you can save and back up your files and programs to an external disc before using the Windows 7 installation discs to complete the formatting procedure.


Also See 

1. HOW TO FORMAT WINDOWS 7 USIG PENDRIVE

2. HOW TO FORMAT WINDOWS XP

3. HOW TO FORMAT PEN DRIVE

STEPS





 1. Back up and save your files. Formatting the C drive will erase all files, programs, and information saved on the C drive, so you may want to back up any files you want saved.
Save your files to an external hard drive or disc, or save your files to another folder on the network, if applicable.


2. Obtain your computer name if connected to a network. After your C drive has been formatted, you may be prompted for your computer name during the installation process in order to reconnect to the network.
Go to your computer's "Start" menu, right-click on "Computer," then select "Properties" from the menu that appears. Your computer name will be shown below "Computer name, domain, and workgroup settings."



3. Insert the Windows 7 installation disc. In some cases, you may have the Windows 7 installation program saved on a Universal Serial Bus (USB) flash drive, which can also be inserted.


4. Turn off your computer. Your computer will have to reboot in order to read the Windows 7 installation disc.
Open your "Start" menu, then click on "Shut Down."



5. Power on your computer. When your computer powers back on, it will read the installation disc and begin the formatting process.


6. Format your C drive. After the computer has recognized the installation disc, you will be prompted to press any key on your keyboard to continue. The installation wizard will then appear on your screen.
Select your language from the "Install Windows" page, then click on "Next" to proceed.


Read and review the Windows 7 license terms. In order to proceed to the next screen, you will be required to place a check mark in the box next to "I accept the license terms."


Select "Custom" when prompted to indicated the type of installation you want to perform.


Select "Drive options (advanced)" when asked where you want Windows installed. Choosing this option will allow you to select the C drive as the only drive you want to format.


Click on your "C" disk drive when Windows asks which partition you want to "change," or install. Your computer will then begin formatting, or erasing, all the data currently existing on your C drive. Windows will notify you when the formatting procedure has finished.



7. Re-install Windows 7 on your C drive. After your C drive has been formatted, you will be required to re-install Windows 7 to that partition. Click on "Next" after Windows has notified you that the formatting procedure has completed. The Windows installation wizard will continue to walk you through the installation process. You will be prompted for your computer name if you are connected to a network, and for information such as your user name.


8. Restore your saved files. After Windows has completed the installation process, you can insert your external hard drive or disc into the computer to restore your files back to the C drive.

TIPS
You may want to connect to the Internet before you restore your backup files to the C drive. Connecting to the Internet may prompt you to update or download new drivers for the applications and programs you are re-installing.

How To Fix a Corrupted File in xp



 Getting used to using your keyboard exclusively and leaving your mouse behind will make you much more efficient at performing any task on any Windows system. I use the following keyboard shortcuts every day.You also try it, believe me its fun operating without mouse:

Type the following commands in your Run Box (Windows Key + R) or Start Run

This is usually followed by:

devmgmt.msc = Device Manager
msinfo32 = System Information
cleanmgr = Disk Cleanup
ntbackup = Backup or Restore Wizard (Windows Backup Utility)
mmc = Microsoft Management Console
excel = Microsoft Excel (If Installed)
msaccess = Microsoft Access (If Installed)
powerpnt = Microsoft PowerPoint (If Installed)
winword = Microsoft Word (If Installed)
frontpg = Microsoft FrontPage (If Installed)
notepad = Notepad
wordpad = WordPad
calc = Calculator
msmsgs = Windows Messenger
mspaint = Microsoft Paint
wmplayer = Windows Media Player
rstrui = System Restore
netscp6 = Netscape 6.x
netscp = Netscape 7.x
netscape = Netscape 4.x
waol = America Online
control = Opens the Control Panel
control printers = Opens the Printers Dialog
cmd = Command Prompt
iexplore + "web address" = Internet Explorer
compmgmt.msc = Computer Management
dhcpmgmt.msc = DHCP Management
dnsmgmt.msc = DNS Management
services.msc = Services
eventvwr = Event Viewer
dsa.msc = Active Directory Users and Computers
dssite.msc = Active Directory Sites and Services
Windows key + E = Explorer

ALT + Tab = Switch between windows

ALT, Space, X = Maximize window

CTRL + Shift + Esc = Task Manager

Windows key + Break = System properties

Windows key + F = Search

Windows key + D = Hide/Display all windows

CTRL + C = copy

CTRL + X = cut

CTRL + V = paste

Also don't forget about the "Right-click" key next to the right Windows key on your keyboard. Using the arrows and that key can get just about anything done once you've opened up any program.

-------------------------
Keyboard Shortcuts:
-------------------------

[Alt] and [Esc] Switch between running applications

[Alt] and letter Select menu item by underlined letter

[Ctrl] and [Esc] Open Program Menu

[Ctrl] and [F4] Close active document or group windows (does not work with some applications)

[Alt] and [F4] Quit active application or close current window

[Alt] and [-] Open Control menu for active document

Ctrl] Lft., Rt. arrow Move cursor forward or back one word

Ctrl] Up, Down arrow Move cursor forward or back one paragraph

[F1] Open Help for active application

Windows+M Minimize all open windows

Shift+Windows+M Undo minimize all open windows

Windows+F1 Open Windows Help

Windows+Tab Cycle through the Taskbar buttons

Windows+Break Open the System Properties dialog box


---------------------------
Acessability shortcuts:
---------------------------Right SHIFT for eight seconds........ Switch FilterKeys on and off.

Left ALT +left SHIFT +PRINT SCREEN....... Switch High Contrast on and off.

Left ALT +left SHIFT +NUM LOCK....... Switch MouseKeys on and off.

SHIFT....... five times Switch StickyKeys on and off.

NUM LOCK...... for five seconds Switch ToggleKeys on and off.

-----------------------
explorer shortcuts:
-----------------------END....... Display the bottom of the active window.

HOME....... Display the top of the active window.

NUM LOCK+ASTERISK....... on numeric keypad (*) Display all subfolders under the selected folder.

NUM LOCK+PLUS SIGN....... on numeric keypad (+) Display the contents of the selected folder.

NUM LOCK+MINUS SIGN....... on numeric keypad (-) Collapse the selected folder.

LEFT ARROW...... Collapse current selection if it's expanded, or select parent folder.

RIGHT ARROW....... Display current selection if it's collapsed, or select first subfolder.

BACKSPACE[<- span="">]...........To page up and traverse through different directory.

---------------------
internet browser:
---------------------
type in your address "google", then press [Right CTRL] and [Enter]
add www. and .com to word and go to it


---------------------
For Windows XP:
---------------------Copy. CTRL+C
Cut. CTRL+X
Paste. CTRL+V
Undo. CTRL+Z
Delete. DELETE
Delete selected item permanently without placing the item in the Recycle Bin. SHIFT+DELETE
Copy selected item. CTRL while dragging an item
Create shortcut to selected item. CTRL+SHIFT while dragging an item
Rename selected item. F2
Move the insertion point to the beginning of the next word. CTRL+RIGHT ARROW
Move the insertion point to the beginning of the previous word. CTRL+LEFT ARROW
Move the insertion point to the beginning of the next paragraph. CTRL+DOWN ARROW
Move the insertion point to the beginning of the previous paragraph. CTRL+UP ARROW
Highlight a block of text. CTRL+SHIFT with any of the arrow keys
Select more than one item in a window or on the desktop, or select text within a document. SHIFT with any of the arrow keys
Select all. CTRL+A
Search for a file or folder. F3
View properties for the selected item. ALT+ENTER
Close the active item, or quit the active program. ALT+F4
Opens the shortcut menu for the active window. ALT+SPACEBAR
Close the active document in programs that allow you to have multiple documents open simultaneously. CTRL+F4
Switch between open items. ALT+TAB
Cycle through items in the order they were opened. ALT+ESC
Cycle through screen elements in a window or on the desktop. F6
Display the Address bar list in My Computer or Windows Explorer. F4
Display the shortcut menu for the selected item. SHIFT+F10
Display the System menu for the active window. ALT+SPACEBAR
Display the Start menu. CTRL+ESC
Display the corresponding menu. ALT+Underlined letter in a menu name
Carry out the corresponding command. Underlined letter in a command name on an open menu
Activate the menu bar in the active program. F10
Open the next menu to the right, or open a submenu. RIGHT ARROW
Open the next menu to the left, or close a submenu. LEFT ARROW
Refresh the active window. F5
View the folder one level up in My Computer or Windows Explorer. BACKSPACE
Cancel the current task. ESC
SHIFT when you insert a CD into the CD-ROM drive Prevent the CD from automatically playing.

-------------------------------------------------------
Use these keyboard shortcuts for dialog boxes:
-------------------------------------------------------To Press
Move forward through tabs. CTRL+TAB
Move backward through tabs. CTRL+SHIFT+TAB
Move forward through options. TAB
Move backward through options. SHIFT+TAB
Carry out the corresponding command or select the corresponding option. ALT+Underlined letter
Carry out the command for the active option or button. ENTER
Select or clear the check box if the active option is a check box. SPACEBAR
Select a button if the active option is a group of option buttons. Arrow keys
Display Help. F1
Display the items in the active list. F4
Open a folder one level up if a folder is selected in the Save As or Open dialog box. BACKSPACE

If you have a Microsoft Natural Keyboard, or any other compatible keyboard that includes the Windows logo key and the Application key , you can use these keyboard shortcuts:


Display or hide the Start menu. WIN Key
Display the System Properties dialog box. WIN Key+BREAK
Show the desktop. WIN Key+D
Minimize all windows. WIN Key+M
Restores minimized windows. WIN Key+Shift+M
Open My Computer. WIN Key+E
Search for a file or folder. WIN Key+F
Search for computers. CTRL+WIN Key+F
Display Windows Help. WIN Key+F1
Lock your computer if you are connected to a network domain, or switch users if you are not connected to a network domain. WIN Key+ L
Open the Run dialog box. WIN Key+R
Open Utility Manager. WIN Key+U

----------------------------------------
Accessibility keyboard shortcuts:
----------------------------------------Switch FilterKeys on and off. Right SHIFT for eight seconds
Switch High Contrast on and off. Left ALT+left SHIFT+PRINT SCREEN
Switch MouseKeys on and off. Left ALT +left SHIFT +NUM LOCK
Switch StickyKeys on and off. SHIFT five times
Switch ToggleKeys on and off. NUM LOCK for five seconds
Open Utility Manager. WIN Key+U

-------------------------------------------------------
Shortcuts you can use with Windows Explorer:
-------------------------------------------------------

Display the bottom of the active window. END
Display the top of the active window. HOME
Display all subfolders under the selected folder. NUM LOCK+ASTERISK on numeric keypad (*)
Display the contents of the selected folder. NUM LOCK+PLUS SIGN on numeric keypad (+)
Collapse the selected folder. NUM LOCK+MINUS SIGN on numeric keypad (-)
Collapse current selection if it's expanded, or select parent folder. LEFT ARROW
Display current selection if it's collapsed, or select first subfolder. RIGHT ARROW


----------------------------------------
Shortcut Keys for Character Map:
----------------------------------------After you double-click a character on the grid of characters, you can move through the grid by using the keyboard shortcuts:
RIGHT ARROW (Move to the right or to the beginning of the next line)
LEFT ARROW (Move to the left or to the end of the previous line)
UP ARROW (Move up one row)
DOWN ARROW (Move down one row)
PAGE UP (Move up one screen at a time)
PAGE DOWN (Move down one screen at a time)
HOME (Move to the beginning of the line)
END (Move to the end of the line)
CTRL+HOME (Move to the first character)
CTRL+END (Move to the last character)
SPACEBAR (Switch between Enlarged and Normal mode when a character is selected)